User Management

The User Management page has three tabs: My Profile, All Users and Role Management.

My Profile

All users can access the My Profile tab to manage their own credentials.

my profile updated

To change your password, click the key icon key in the Password card at the top.

Below the cards is secret management section, where you can create and delete secrets, which are unique strings that can be used to generate authorization tokens. You need to provide an alias for the secret,

You can create as many secrets for each graph as you want, but remember to copy the secret value and save it at a secure location when you generate a secret. Once you refresh the page or go to another page and come back, the actual secret value will be masked for security.

secret management

When token authentication is enabled, you need to use the secrets to request tokens and add the tokens in the HTTP request headers to call TigerGraph REST endpoints. Read more at: User Access Management.

All Users

The All Users tab displays information on all users. Only users with user or proxy groups management permission can access this tab. Users with user management permissions (READ_USER, WRITE_USER privileges) can add new users, change other users' password, delete users.

Users with proxy groups management permission (READ_PROXYGROUP, WRITE_PROXYGROUP privileges) can create proxy groups, change proxy rules of the groups, and delete proxy groups. To see a list of all privileges, see List of Privileges.

all users updated

Both native users and proxy users are displayed in the User section. However, you can only change the password for native users.

Click Add user button to add new users:

Add new user pop-up

Click change others password btn to change other users' password:

change others password

Click delete btn to delete a user.

Click proxy groups tab to see all proxy groups:

proxy groups

Click add group btn to add new proxy groups:

add proxy group

Click edit to edit the proxy rule of an existing proxy group:

edit proxy group

Click delete btn to delete a proxy group.

Read more about proxy group at User Access Management.

User-defined roles

The User-defined roles tab lists all user-defined roles and allows users with sufficient privileges to create roles. Users must have the READ_ROLE privilege on at least one graph to access this tab. This section describes the procedures to create, edit, and drop roles, as well as assign roles to users in GraphStudio. To learn more about roles and privileges in TigerGraph’s role-based access control system, see User Access Management.

To create/edit/delete a role, a user must also have WRITE_ROLE privilege on that graph. See more details in Access Control Model in TigerGraph.

At the right upper corner, there is a hint button udr hint btn. Click the button and jump to the official roles and privileges documentation to read more about roles and privileges. All user-defined roles that you can view will list in a table:

user defined roles

Each row shows one role along with the privileges it contains. For global roles, all privileges on either global level or a specific graph will be listed.

Create a user-defined role

Click + Create role at the right upper corner to create a role. You can create a global or a local role on a graph.

role type hint

Create a global role

Select global ratio btn to start creating a global role. The first panel is for the global privileges, where you can select global level privileges to assign to this role.

create global role

Click grant privileges on graph at the bottom of the pop-up window to open the same interface with the ability to create privileges for a different graph.

Create a local role

Select local ratio btn to start creating a local role. Select a graph in the dropdown that you want to create the role on.

create local role

Edit a user-defined role

Click edit to open the edit pop-up. Deselect a privilege to drop it from the role and select one to add it to the role. When editing a role, you cannot change a local role to a global role, or vice versa.

edit global role edit local role

Drop a role

Click delete btn to drop a role.

Role management

In the Role Management tab, users can view the role assignment of users, assign roles to users, and revoke roles from users. Users must have the READ_ROLE privilege along with the READ_USER or READ_PROXYGROUP privilege on at least one graph to access this tab.

Admin Portal does not indicate whether a user belongs a proxy group. You can find out more from GSQL client.

Admin Portal shows a combination of roles for proxy users. Proxy user which belongs to a proxy group inherits all the roles from the proxy group plus all the roles the proxy user has. Therefore, if you want to revoke a role from a proxy user, you need to revoke the role from the proxy group first. Then you might need to revoke the same role from the proxy user if the proxy user also has that role.

To assign roles, users need to have WRITE_ROLE privilege. If you only have READ_ROLE privilege, you can only view the current assignment but can not modify it.

role management

Select a graph

You can use the dropdown menu in the top left corner to select on which graph you want to assign different roles to different users, you can either choose global to assign global roles or a specific graph to assign local roles:

select graph 1 select graph 2

Select a role

You can use the second dropdown menu to select a role that you want to assign to different users:

select role
With global selected, you can assign all global built-in or user-defined roles. With a specific graph selected, you can assign all local built-in roles or local user-defined roles within that graph.

View role details

Next to the dropdowns, click the View role details button view role detail btn to view the information on the selected role.

role detail

Search user

You can type in the search box to search for users:

search user

Settings for users

You can sort the users by alphabetic order or name length:

sort users

You can choose to show all users, show the users who have the role, or show the users who don’t have the role:

show users

Grant/revoke a role

On a small screen, you need to click manage btn to open the assignment panel.

Once you’ve selected a graph and a role, all users will be listed with a checkbox. You can check the box next to the user to grant the role, or uncheck to revoke the role.

user assignment

After modifying your assignment, click SAVE to save your changes. You can also discard your changes with the DISCARD button.

View after changing role assignment

Click the proxy group button to switch to proxy groups and manage their roles.

manage groups

If you have made changes to users through GSQL after opening the user management page, click the refresh button in the top right corner to reflect the changes in Admin Portal.